New Computer...could use some help/advice

Having hardware or software problems related to Links? Other forum members may be able to help you here.
Post Reply
Mr Mulligan
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:48 pm
Location: Sparta, Wisconsin

New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by Mr Mulligan »

:unsure: :helpsmilie:
Hey fellow linksters - an old retired fart here that could use a little expertise!
Just got a new HP desktop and a good friend is helping me set everything up
including Links 2003. (I am NOT very computer savvy!...and quite forgetful!)

Anyway, I do recall in a past thread some posts regarding downloading the game
from this site or setting it up with the DVD's and the majority said that you should
go the DVD route, so that's what I plan on doing. First ? - there are 3 DVD's, so do
I need to install all 3, just one...or two?
Next ? - in other threads and posts, it seems the best route to take is to install the
patches/mods in this order to help with any or all sound and or graphic issues.
1.02, then 1.05, then 1.07 ...and also the Nvidia patch. If this is correct, does the
Nvidia get installed last or doesn't it matter?

Finally, I copied all of the courses, saved shots/games, players, and skies to a
designated folder in My Documents. Once I have successfully installed the game,
I'm "assuming" I should be able to copy everything over to the folders that are
attached to the game...correct/incorrect?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated! :yes:
Thanks!
g3b
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:56 am

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by g3b »

Hello,
You probably need to post more info ie, is the cpu (processor) an apu (graphics engine on it) or do you have a seperate video card. Also what is the operating system --- windows 10 or 11. Knowing these may help if we need to troubleshoot your install of Links.

Have fun, don't become frustrated someone on the forum will help.
g3b :cheers1:
User avatar
Danny D
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:09 am
Location: SE Missouri

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by Danny D »

Mr Mulligan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 pm :unsure: :helpsmilie:
Hey fellow linksters - an old retired fart here that could use a little expertise!
Just got a new HP desktop and a good friend is helping me set everything up
including Links 2003. (I am NOT very computer savvy!...and quite forgetful!)
Hiya Mr M...

Seems like I recall someone mention that it's best to install Links in its own folder, and not to let the DVD install itself in the default installation folders. For example, create a folder on your C drive named C:\Links2003 and install in there. Doing so will put all of your folders in places where they can be easily located, instead of scattering them all over the place where they are hard to find. I'm sure if I'm wrong about that, someone will correct me. I'd hold off on the installation until someone else confirms that.

Good luck,

Dan
Mulligan: A thieving second shot employed by golfers to prove the first one was no mistake.
pmgolf
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:41 am
Location: near Richmond, VA

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by pmgolf »

Dan's right! Put Links into c:\Links 2003\ instead of the c:\Program Files (x86)\Links 2003\ that the program wants to install it in. Then you won't have to give Administrator Permission each time you want to add a file (like a new course to play), or remove a file (like a round score file), or do any number of things to the files. The operating system won't have any problem finding anything. The folks here have a lot of experience with Links, and their knowledge can help you through many problems! I'm just one of many guys here who have been playing Links since the early 1990's.

Pete
User avatar
migolfer
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:40 pm
Location: Northern Michigan

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by migolfer »

Mr Mulligan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 pm First ? - there are 3 DVD's, so do I need to install all 3, just one...or two?
Yes, first.

You start your installation from DVD#1. When that runs, you will be
prompted to install DVD#2. From what I recall, DVD#3 is the APCD
and some extras, like the course converter.

Mr Mulligan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 pm Next ? - in other threads and posts, it seems the best route to take is to install the
patches/mods in this order to help with any or all sound and or graphic issues.
1.02, then 1.05, then 1.07.
You should only have to install the 1.07 patch. Software updates are
always cumulative, there is nothing in 1.02, for example, that 1.07
doesn't have. That's the only patch I installed.

Mr Mulligan wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 pm ...and also the Nvidia patch. If this is correct, does the
Nvidia get installed last or doesn't it matter?
Pretty sure this does not matter. I installed it last, for whatever that's worth.

Good luck!
Mr Mulligan
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:48 pm
Location: Sparta, Wisconsin

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by Mr Mulligan »

:yes:

Hey Guys - sorry for the late response...I have been "under the weather"
the past several days. (Not Covid!)
Anyway, my buddy and I took all your advice on this thread ....and other
threads as well and all is well...except 1 minor detail. Under "Golfer Settings"
and then "Shadows", I can't select "Translucent". (it's greyed out). So, I have
to settle for "Opaque". Not as cool as translucent! Any ideas or advice?
Thanks to everyone who has posted so far!
:cheers1:
pmgolf
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:41 am
Location: near Richmond, VA

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by pmgolf »

Mr Mully - The translucent shadows are only available if you have one of relatively few video cards that support it. (like the nVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti or 1050Ti).

Pete
Mr Mulligan
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:48 pm
Location: Sparta, Wisconsin

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by Mr Mulligan »

:whistle:
That's what I figured...thanks Pete!
User avatar
Kunkleman
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:40 am

Re: New Computer...could use some help/advice

Post by Kunkleman »

pmgolf wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:20 pm Mr Mully - The translucent shadows are only available if you have one of relatively few video cards that support it. (like the nVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti or 1050Ti).

Pete
Add the nVidia Quadro 3700 to that list.
Post Reply