Please support Links Corner    



Follow-through: The part of the swing that takes place after the ball has been hit, but before the club has been thrown. ~ Henry Beard


Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Members Tech Forums
New Installation View older topic :: View newer topic  
Author Message
mashie



Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 465
Location
Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:23 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

I've installed Links 2003 on a new Win 10 computer. It runs using the intel integrated graphics but doesn't find the graphic card. How can I force it to recognize the NVidia card?

View user's profile Send private message
guitarzan



Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 466
Location
London,Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:16 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

The sticky at the top of this forum should help you, it did for me. Links 2003 doesn't seem to recognize Nvida cards when you have integrated graphics.

View user's profile Send private message
mashie



Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 465
Location
Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:47 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice. Followed the instructions but Links is still not recognizing the Nvidia card.

View user's profile Send private message
Still Linksing



Joined: 25 Jan 2019
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:57 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

I don't think anyone has ever managed to get Links to recognize the graphic card. Links always defaults to the integrated graphics.
I've never been in this situation but everyone else I am reasonably certain never found a way to get it to work. Been a few threads about it over the years.


aka Viper
View user's profile Send private message
Adelade



Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:28 am    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

I got my laptop to play Links with Nvidia card instead of the Intel one. Took some work and I dont remember with 100% certainty what exactly did it, but I know the dgVoodoo2 from that thread, http://linkscorner.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34271, was necessary for me. Just not sure if it was necessary to get it to recognize the card in the first place or just to solve significant graphical glitches. Im 100% sure my Links is using the Nvidia one anyway. Sounds like you already tried it though mashie? :/

By the way mashie, you have a private message :)


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Armand



Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 1929
Location
Calgary, Alberta

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:13 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

Can you disable the on-board graphics through the BIOS (or elsewhere), thus forcing the computer to use the nVidia card for everything?

View user's profile Send private message
mashie



Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 465
Location
Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:16 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

Armand wrote:
Can you disable the on-board graphics through the BIOS (or elsewhere), thus forcing the computer to use the nVidia card for everything?


I was thinking the same thing, but I'm not sure how to do it and don't want to tinker with something I'm not really familiar with.


View user's profile Send private message
Armand



Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 1929
Location
Calgary, Alberta

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:05 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

How about disabling the Intel graphics in Device Manager?

View user's profile Send private message
mashie



Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 465
Location
Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:41 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

That's a good suggestion, I'll take a look at that. I tried opening the NVidia control panel but was unable as it said it wasn't being used for the visual device. When I checked in device manager it shows that it's operating properly. Any idea how to work around this??

View user's profile Send private message
Danny D



Joined: 02 Dec 2015
Posts: 735
Location
SE Missouri

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:17 am    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

mashie wrote:
That's a good suggestion, I'll take a look at that. I tried opening the NVidia control panel but was unable as it said it wasn't being used for the visual device. When I checked in device manager it shows that it's operating properly. Any idea how to work around this??
Don't take this as factual, but as Armand mentioned, I heard somewhere that you disable the graphics in the BIOS. Unsure

Dan


MULLIGAN: A thieving second shot employed by golfers to prove the first one was no mistake
View user's profile Send private message
Armand



Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 1929
Location
Calgary, Alberta

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:20 am    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

I was doing a quick online search to copy-paste instructions and ran across a (potentially) critical step in using the nVidia card instead of the on-board graphics .... is your monitor connected to the nVidia output ports?? I don't see how the computer would display anything on your monitor using the nVidia card if the monitor isn't connected to it, but please be sure it is.
Yes


It really is in your best interest to disable the on-board video in your BIOS. If your computer is using the on-board graphics for anything, it will reserve/use some of your RAM, which would be undesirable for best computer performance. I'm guessing there would be little or no impact to Links, but it could negatively impact other games/software.


If you are disabling through the BIOS, you need to find the right section and setting in the BIOS screen. Once you do, though, it's a very simple change/toggle to disable the on-board graphics.


This link gives general instructions on both methods:
https://itstillworks.com/disable-integrated-graphics-card-5946380.html


View user's profile Send private message
mashie



Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 465
Location
Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:40 pm    Post subject: New Installation Reply with quote

Thanks Armand,

The monitor is not connected to the video card output. Looks like I have to get an adapter for a DVI output. This may be the answer.

Thanks again for everyone's response, this place is the best for help.


View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
View older topic :: View newer topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Members Tech Forums All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
 

These damn Axis weapons don't work! - Sgt Sneaky Bastage AKA Axe R.I.P.