Please support Links Corner    

Dear God, is it true my father won't get in Heaven if he uses his golf words in the house? -Anita, age 7
Clwb Golff Cynnfig (Kenfig Golf Club)Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next View older topic :: View newer topic  
JWGriffinGCA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:10 am    Post subject: Clwb Golff Cynnfig (Kenfig Golf Club) Reply with quote

I decided it was finally time to post some screenshots of the course I have been working on. I've been referring to it for a couple years and so I figured I'd better post some proof that I wasn't bluffing. It is a fictional links course loosely based on a real dunes area in Wales on Swansea Bay - the Kenfig National Nature Reserve. I wanted a course that explored some big sandhill dunes and had some quirks as all proper links do.

I have currently completed elevation work on the in-play areas for all 18 holes, although I decided I need to make some semi-major tweaks to the 2nd hole. I have spent a lot of time getting ground contours the way I want them - lots of time reviewing work with the grid on to ensure natural-looking slopes in and around greens, bunkers, and fairways. I still have a lot of work to do in the surrounding dune areas to get the rugged rumpled look I want.

Please keep in mind the current state of the course in the shots below: placeholder low-def textures, no plantings, no 3D, no pano, no seam blends. Other than that, it's nearly done! Laugh Seriously, I started this course in 2010. Between being a perfectionist and having only 2-3 hours a week (max) to work on it, it's taken a while to get to this point, and it will take a while to complete. But it's a labor of love, it's my stress reliever (until APCD frustrates me!), and it's a creative outlet from my structured engineering mind. This course is my happy place in the few minutes during the day at work when I can let my mind wander and think about how I want a feature to look or what I need to do next.